OPEN 24 HOURS A DAY

But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Matthew 6:33 NIV

I love going to our local Walmart. It’s one of those stores that has groceries as well as the regular store stuff, so it’s perfect for one-stop shopping. I appreciate that sort of service today because I’m very time poor. The days are gone when I can say I have more time than money.  Unfortunately, I’m short on both.  So I need to make the most of the time I have, and it’s frustrating when I realize that one of the items I need is on the other side of town – away from my one-stop shopping spot.

But I find that when I have problems, doubts, or struggles, I don’t have a one-stop shopping approach. I run to several sources for advice, solutions, comfort. I go online for advice, to my friends for encouragement, to food for comfort. And finally, when I’m exhausted and desperate and feel I have nowhere else to go, I give up. With nowhere else to turn, I go to God.

How very sad that God is my last resort when He should be my first resource. He is my perfect one-stop shopping for all of my needs, open 24 hours a day with no line. But more often than not He’s my last resort, where I go when I can’t get what I need anywhere else.

I’ve often joked about those moments when I finally throw my hands in the air and admit defeat. “All right, God!” I call, “I give up! You take care of it.”

I can almost hear His heavenly sigh when He answers, “Well, it’s about time.” But the best part is that what He actually says is, “Here I am.” And that’s what you call service with a smile!

Leave a comment